You Can Preorder Oculus Rift Without Paying Upfront Preview

Customers who preorder an Oculus Rift will not be charged a cent until their order actually ships. Oculus Rift creator Palmer Luckey confirmed the information via Twitter today. Luckey went on to announce that Rift all preorders also reserved a spot for Oculus Touch, the controllers designed specially for virtual reality experiences.

Oculus Rift preorders open at 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST on January 6 (tomorrow), or 13 hours from now. While there are no pricing details available, we do know that it will be priced somewhere above $ 350. Earlier today Luckey stated that there was “no chance” that Oculus Rift preorders would sell out, stating that the company would “keep on taking preorders for as long as people want EVE: Valkyrie!”

Preorders will be open to people around the world, although the headset will only ship to 20 countries. More details will presumably be available on the Oculus Rift website soon.

In related Oculus Rift news, Oculus VR announced earlier today that everyone who pledged for an Oculus Rift DK1 via Kickstarter in 2012 will be receiving a free consumer version this year. After the preorders open, Luckey will conduct a Reddit AMA on Wednesday, January 6, starting at 6 PM PST / 9 PM EST.

GameSpot

Bookmark the permalink.